The Witness

Av Nora Roberts
0425264769Originaltitel: The Witness
Antal sidor:

Läst på språk: Engelska
Format: E-bok
Serie: –

Daughter of a cold, controlling mother and an anonymous donor, studious, obedient Elizabeth Fitch finally let loose one night, drinking too much at a nightclub and allowing a strange man’s seductive Russian accent to lure her to a house on Lake Shore Drive.

Twelve years later, the woman now known as Abigail Lowery lives alone on the outskirts of a small town in the Ozarks. A freelance security systems programmer, her own protection is supplemented by a fierce dog and an assortment of firearms. She keeps to herself, saying little, revealing nothing. Unfortunately, that seems to be the quickest way to get attention in a tiny southern town.

The mystery of Abigail Lowery and her sharp mind, secretive nature, and unromantic viewpoints intrigues local police chief Brooks Gleason, on both a personal and professional level. And while he suspects that Abigail needs protection from something, Gleason is accustomed to two-bit troublemakers, not the powerful and dangerous men who are about to have him in their sights. 
And Abigail Lowery, who has built a life based on security and self-control, is at risk of losing both.

 

Jag läser som regel Nora Roberts när det är en specifik litteratur jag söker. Då söker jag som regel starka singla kvinnor med som regel ett jagat förflutet. Dom är starka, tar hand om sig själv och söker inte en man att dela sin vardag med. Men kärleken är lika oförutsägbar som Roberts böcker är förutsägbara. Hon har långt över 200 böcker på nacken och det är kun deckarna och thrillrarna jag läser. Allt annat utav Roberts intresserar mig inte. Men hennes spännande böcker är det som gör att jag tycker om henne. Dom är enkla och kräver inte så mycket tankverksamhet. Det är för mig en må gott bok som jag bäddar ned mig i soffan med en kopp te till.

Givetvis var inte den här boken något speciellt annorlunda än de andra jag läst utav henne. Men jag gillar den. Karaktärerna känns verkliga och jag älskar Abigail och Brooks. Givetvis förutsägbar men denna boken hade en liten twist jag inte hade väntat mig. Det var nytt, fräsch och oväntat för att vara en Roberts bok.

betyg8

Kommentera

